Brown Media Group Film Festival

A Spectacular Selection of Brown Alumni Short Films Hosted by Tony- and Emmy-nominated actor Kate Burton '79 With Keynote SPeaker Yoruba Richen '94


Please join us as we showcase these Brown alumni short films chosen from among a hundred wonderful submissions, PLUS Broadway, film and television actress Kate Burton '79 as host, and award–winning documentary filmmaker Yoruba Richen '94 delivering the keynote.

Thursday, November 19
at 7pm

via Zoom

Register - FREE

Official Selections:

Black Therapist: We Need Help -- Fedna Jacquet '10 (Director/Producer/Actor)
Color — Haille McKenzie '20 (Director/Producer)
Chasing Ghosts — Eric Bendick '02 (Director/Producer)
Flora Borealis — Casey Friedman '15 (Director/Producer)
Grace — Peter Kimball '04 (Director/Voice Actor)
Pearl Was Here — Kate Marks '01 (Director/Producer)
Shande — Christopher Fitzsimmons '13.5 (Producer) and Lisa Davis MFA '93 (Writer)
Six Feet — Hanna Gray Organschi '15 (Director/Producer/Actor)
Sundae — Sonya Goddy '07 (Director)
This Remains — Rachel Borders '13 (Director/Producer) and Aly Migliori '13 (Director of Photography)
Twist — Aly Migliori '13 (Director/Co-Producer) and Matt Russell MFA '14 Actor

Kate Burton ’79 is an actress, director, professor and labor leader. She is best known for her work on Broadway, and most recently, in Present Laughter starring Kevin Kline. She has been nominated for three Tony awards for Hedda GablerThe Constant Wife and The Elephant Man. Other Broadway work has been in Some Americans AbroadCompanyAlice in WonderlandDoonesburyJake’s WomenAn American DaughterThe Beauty Queen of LeenaneSpring Awakening and Wild Honey. On television she is best known for her Emmy nominated work on Grey’s Anatomy and Scandal. She  is currently shooting Inventing Anna for Netflix.  The great writer, Shonda Rhimes, is the creator of all these shows. Also on television, she has been seen in all the Law and Orders, VeepExtantThe West WingRescue MeThe Good WifeCharmed13 Reasons WhyThis Is UsSupergirland Empire Falls with Paul Newman, Joanne Woodward and Ed Harris. On film she has been seen in Big Trouble in Little ChinaUnfaithfulAugustSwimfanMax Payne, Woody Allen’s Celebrity, Ang Lee’s Ice StormLiberal Arts, Julie Delpy’s 2 Days in NY and, most recently, Danny Boyle’s 127 Hours and Richard Linklater’s Where’d You Go, Bernadette starring Cate Blanchett. She is a full professor of the practice at USC and serves on the council of Actor’s Equity Association.  A native of NYC, she graduated from Brown with a double major in Russian Studies and European History and received her MFA from The Yale School of Drama. She is a current member of The Brown Corporation  and received an Honorary Doctorate from Brown in 2007. She is married to Michael Ritchie, AD of CTG in LA (Ahmanson/Taper/Douglas) and the mother of Charlotte Ritchie and Morgan Ritchie ’10.  

Yoruba Richen '94 is an award–winning documentary filmmaker whose work has been featured on PBS, The New York TimesFrontline DigitalNew York Magazine’s website -The Cut, The Atlantic and Field of Vision.  Her latest films, The Killing of Breonna Taylor premiered on FX and Hulu and The Sit In: Harry Belafonte Hosts the Tonight Show premiered on MSNBC and is streaming on Peacock.  Yoruba's previous film The Green Book: Guide to Freedom was broadcast on the Smithsonian Channel to record audiences and was nominated for an EMMY. Yoruba’sfeature documentary, The New Black, won multiple festival awards and was nominated for an NAACP Image Award and a GLAAD Media Award before premiering on PBS’s Independent Lens.  Her film Promised Land was broadcast on POV.  Yoruba won a Clio award for her short film about the Grammy-nominated singer Andra Day.  She has also won Creative Promise Award at Tribeca All Access and was a Sundance Producers Fellow. Yoruba is a featured TED Speaker, a Fulbright fellow, a Guggenheim fellow and a 2016 recipient of the Chicken & Egg Breakthrough Filmmaker Award.  She is the founding director of the Newmark Graduate School of Journalism at CUNY. 

All Brown Alumni are invited to join the Brown Media Group Facebook Group for up-to-date information about Brown alumni media endeavors.


Questions? Email: